in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-5-01 // 6.19 pm

we talked about some old times & we drank ourselves some beers

NP: Paul Simon - "Still Crazy After All These Years"

So this morning I had to get up halfway early to help my parents move my sister's stuff out of her dorm. It was a lot of carrying boxes & moving around long pieces of wood from the disassembled loft. I have little scratches all over my arms and legs now, all because of those boards. So anyway, my parents were here for most of the afternoon...which is fine, especially 'cause I got free Chinese food out of the deal. But I was a bit annoyed as this was like the first free Saturday I've had in like a month. I was looking forward to spending it sleeping in, sitting around, listening to music & reading magazines. I have two issues of Q just sitting there staring at me. Oh well, the semester will be over in a week or so, then I have nine days in which to catch back up on sleep & relaxation.

They finally cut the grass around my apartment block. Now it looks like there's hay all over the place. I'm just amazed that the guy was able to push the lawnmower through that mess. I also like the pile of 'artifacts' (including a Chicago-themed tourist's shopping bag) piled on the sidewalk...all stuff that was found in the tall grass, I guess.

A year passed and what happened? Nothing. I want to blame that on some outside force, but I think it's my fault.

then / now