in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-9-03 // 12.50 pm

tell me tall tales of montego bay, table mountain, flying fish

NP: Marillion & The Positive Light - "Tales From The Engine Room"

Not all the reworkings on this LP work, but of the ones that do, they're stunning. Estonia and This Strange Engine, especially. Oh, and also the Big Beat mix of Memory Of Water. I mean, the original tracks are emotional enough as they are, but something about these versions adds yet another layer of feeling to the songs.

So far this week I have worked 40 hours in four days. I'll be putting in more today. As a result, I've been spent at the end of the day, and in some cases, not entirely pleasant. Plus, the weather has been very damp and humid lately, which has caused a flare-up of my seasonal allergies. The combination of everything is kind of crappy. And the entire situation seems to make me even more boring than usual. I get into this groove where I work between 10 and 12 hours, then all I want to do is come home, sit on the couch in comfortable clothes, mess with the computer and drink a beer. I feel like I've been a shitty conversationalist this week, and not that great company in general. I'm sure things will look up, though. But anyway, yeah. Today, my manager is out of the office, and my goal for the day is to avoid my tech lead as much as possible, and hopefully, get out of here somewhat early. I think I'm due an early evening for once.

Going to see "The Matrix" (the original one) on the big screen Saturday night. The Tivoli is using it to kick off their midnight movie series for the year. Which is cool, since Erin has never seen it in the theater, and it'll be a good refresher for me, as we're going to go with Ryan S next week to see the second installment of the trilogy.

Sunday is Mother's Day. My dad is having a bruch type thing for my mom at like 10 o'clock in the morning that day. Which is fine, and I'm going, but this is the third weekend in a row I've had some sort of family obligation at least one of the days, plus I was over at my parents' house for dinner Wednesday last week. I wouldn't mind having a totally open weekend at some point soon. Though at least I haven't had to work weekends, I suppose that's a plus.

You know, my musical skills are next to nil, though do you want to hear something sad? I've already decided on the cover art I'd use if I ever was to magically learn to play an instrument and to write songs. Here they are:

I think that would be the back cover. Well, I can't find the other one, maybe it's on my computer at home. Perhaps I'll post it later. Oh, and this hypothetical record would be entitled "The Dearly Undeparted May Linger Still". That was a newspaper headline some years ago and I've always liked the way it sounds.

Can't wait to get out of here for the day. It's almost like I expended all of my available work energy earlier in the week, because I have zero motivation today. I think the weekend will do me a world of good.

then / now