in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-10-03 // 11.51 am

the road is hot and dusty, the desert needs a beer

NP: Blur - "Think Tank"

Picked this up yesterday on my way home from work. After two solid listens, I'm sold. It's great more or less all the way through, and it's nice to discover that the departure of Graham Coxon hasn't turned out to be the band's creative death knell. So yeah, great ballads in Out Of Time and Sweet Song, great insane rockers in Crazy Beat and We've Got A File On You, general auditory twisting and turning in Ambulance and Jets (funky as hell bassline there, which is odd coming from artists so very unfunky), and a few songs that do a good job of evoking the Moroccan desert that the album was recorded in.

It's dark coffee, tortilla chips and guacamole for lunch for me today. It's yet another stormy day out (one batch of storms rolled through an hour ago, and more should arrive later in the day), so I've just been hanging out here in the air conditioned goodness and taking it all in. Very nice Saturday morning, in general. I think some LP listening is in store for this afternoon.

Oh, before I forget, I too now have a Fotolog. Check it out. Get your own, too, photos rock. Anyway, what I have up now is mostly a backlog of things from the past year and change or so, but I'm going to upload some more recent pictures tomorrow. They limit you to six uploaded pics per calendar day. It's funny, I actually felt guilty for using so much bandwith at once that I went and donated five bucks to the site via paypal.

So yesterday it was stiflingly hot. Well, it only got up to about 88 or 90, but the humidity was way up, and the air was extremely still and hazy. I got stuck in traffic on Skinker (and then on Delmar) trying to get to the Tivoli to buy advance tickets for the Saturday midnight movie. After nearly getting heatstroke while sitting in my car waiting for a left turn arrow, I parked on the street at a meter, even though I didn't have any change to put into it. So I dashed across the street, dodging cars, only to find that the Tivoli box office didn't open for another half hour. So, not wanting to chance getting my car ticketed, I ran back across the street, moved my car to the free lot at the other end of the Loop, and then walked back down to the theater to wait for the box office to open. It finally opened about 20 minutes late, and once it did, the woman working the counter was rather rude. Choice quote (after me asking for 3 tickets to the Saturday night "Matrix" midnight show) -- "you do know this isn't the new "Matrix", right?!" She was also scowling, though, so she was probably having a bad day.

Whoa, a torrential downpour just started, and now I hear hail bouncing off of the window. Damn.

I need to snap out of this tired/snapping/bad mood thing that I've been stuck in this week. I know it's just because I'm really worn out from work, but that doesn't mean all that has to spill over into the rest of my life. It's not fair to Erin and it's not fair to anyone. So yeah, I'm going to make a conscious effort to not be an ass. It needs to be done.

Ah, relaxation, music, dark skies and storms, "The Matrix" at the midnight movie tonight, and this week's Eastenders omnibus is on in a few. Rock on.

then / now