in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-16-03 // 2.18 pm

they`ve got factories and jobs and playgrounds provided

NP: Deacon Blue - "Raintown"

My annual review went well, it was pretty positive. No idea if I'll get a raise this year, though. Probably won't get that information for several months yet.

I went to lunch with my coworkers today, which was nice. I usually never go because it means I just have to stay even later every night, plus it's more money spent every day, plus I generally like a very light lunch. But we went to Jimmy John's and ate sandwiches, and it was cool. Oh, and the Clash's Lost In The Supermarket was playing on the shop's PA. I was the only person who actually cared, but still.

This weekend I will (amongst other things) :

# go see the midnight movie tonight with Erin and be in a good mood

# spend at least one weekend morning/afternoon being the laziest man on earth

# put on the stereo and vacuum/wash dishes/pick up the general clutter in the apartment

# take a very long walk, and remember to bring my camera and get shots of things I've meant to take pics of for ages

"Matrix Reloaded" was much better than I thought it would be. I'd mostly read negative reviews of the "it's all special effects and no plot", which is exactly the sort of thing I loathe. But aside from some clunky dialogue (something the first one had as well, to be fair), the willingness to drop into lengthy combat scenes for no reason, and ridiculous sex scenes (not to mention the rave-up/orgy/whatever that was supposed to be in the caves), I was happy with the movie. Not going to win any Oscars, but the plot kept me almost as interested as the first one's did, so yeah.

Oh, and I saw J.R. at the theater! I seriouly hadn't talked to him since like Thanksgiving of '01, I didn't have his phone number or address (I knew vaguely of his whereabouts, but that was it), and his old email had stopped working. But he was there, and we did a bit of catching up. Not much, but he gave me his new email, and we're going to try to meet up in the near future.

So Erin, myself and John watched the eclipse for a while after the movie, and then went to Denny's. Got in a bit late, but I didn't mind. In fact, the whole day felt like a Friday, and I would have been happy to stay up for another couple of hours. But I had to get up in the morning, so...

Alright, time to get back to work. I'd write more, but I keep getting distracted. Oh well.

then / now