in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-19-03 // 10.38 am

the memory of late nights and coffee in bed

NP: random iPod.

(Simon & Garfunkel - Bridge Over Troubled Water)

There are far fewer songs on this thing at the moment, since Saturday morning, in an extreme anorak moment, I deleted 99% of the songs (in 160kbps MP3 format), only to begin re-ripping all of my CDs in AAC (128 kbps MP4, basically) format. Better sound at a smaller sample rate, which not only means that the music sounds even better, but over the course of 1800+ songs, will free up an additional ~1.5 GB of space, in which to put even more tunes. Yes, I'm sad.

(Midnight Oil - Stars Of Warburton)

I'm pretty sure the complete transition into adulthood can be marked by when the reception of a gift of a piece of clothing changes from "damn, not another shirt", to "hey cool, another shirt, I can use this".

(The Smiths - The Headmaster Ritual)

My uncle Mike lives in southern California, and a few years ago he quit a long standing corporate job to join a startup. In any case, the company has gotten somewhat off the ground, and as a result, ever so often he has to travel. Earlier this morning I got an email saying that he's leaving for Finland (again), and that after that he and my aunt are spending time in Paris and the south of France before coming back to the States. Talk about enviable business trips!

(Manics - From Despair To Where)

Ugh, so it's Monday morning. I'd rather it not be, but there's not much I can do about it. In any case, the weekend flew by far too quickly, though it's a bit easier to take, considering that this coming weekend is a three day affair. I can get through one more week with that in the back of my head.

(Squeeze - Black Coffee In Bed)

My boss is leaving for Virginia at some point today, though I'm not so sure he's going to do so before the weekly, excruciating as hell Monday morning meeting. There's a reason I have my headphones securely on -- I in no way feel like interacting with coworkers at the moment.

(Peter Gabriel - Secret World)

My allergies are killing me. I love spring but it takes a huge toll on my head. I could totally go back to bed right now, and most of the weekend I was sniffling and sort of light headed. Not fun. Though at least it's not a head cold, knock on wood.

OK, time to get back to work in earnest. Though to be honest, I'm only feeling half motivated this morning.

then / now