in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-16-04 // 8.11 pm

maybe I misunderstood

NP: Bernard Butler - "People Move On"

The lyrics to this are really rather bad (earnest just not skillful at all), although between the very good music and Butler's decent singing voice, they're tolerable. At least it's light years better than Johnny Marr's Healers turned out to be. shudder

Cards game on Friday night, first of the year for us. It didn't start raining again, which was nice, although it was cold and raw all evening -- Erin broke out the hot chocolate. Game was good, the Cards won and I ate a big bag of peanuts (dig that peanut shell mess I left under the seat). Got a free promo t-shirt, too. Metro was jam packed both ways but it was cool, even though I was kind of annoyed at the time.

Saturday I had to get up early (7 o'clock, which I guess is techinically sleeping in, as I normally get up at quarter after six in the morning) to drive down to Cape for my sister's graduation. The honors convocation thing was at 10.30 and then the actual commencement was at 2 and went till about 5. Loooong day. I mean, it was groovy 'cause it was an important day and I wanted to be there, but still. Lots of driving and waiting. Plus my mom made us all pose for about a billion pictures inbetween ceremonies. I also took some pictures to alleviate the boredom in the downtime. Teresa came over Saturday night, which was fun, although I was exhausted from the events of the day and went to bed at midnight.

Today's been alright. I felt kind of out of it and was a bit surly all day. Not sure why, I got a full night's sleep. I guess I just didn't feel like I got a chance to unwind all weekend. Anyway, I just got back from a long walk and I feel much more like myself now. Sadly, the weekend's just about over by this point. Oh well.

Earlier, we were playing Trivial Pursuit & Erin accidentally crushed my toe under the leg of her chair . It hurt like fucking hell, I was yelling at the top of my lungs like a banshee. Thankfully it's only turned a bit purple & tingly and has a big old indentation on the top side. In the grand scheme of things, it's nothing: some years back, Jon's girlfriend at the time ran over my entire foot with her car. Even that only made it go numb for a the weekend, no breaks or anything. My foot must be indestructible.

Some good news, since Erin's done with her semester at school, until she starts back up in the fall her work is shifting her to days, Monday through Friday. Which means our schedules will actually sync up for a change, at least for a few months anyway. This makes me happy. I mean, it took a while but I got used to her working nights and Saturdays, but this is much better. Just in time for summer, too -- evening ballgames, dinner and drinks outside on the Loop, etc.

Ah, this is such a nice dusk tonight. I can tell it's just about summer because the dusks are getting good again. Summer evenings and nights are perfect...now if I could just get rid of summer days.

then / now