in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-18-04 // 9.50 am

ryan adams vs. talib kweli

NP: the hum of the air conditioning unit. And Josh Rouse. He's not humming, though, just singing.

Tuesday morning and I don't have to head in to work until this afternoon. In an hour or so I will head to midtown for a tour of the city's metro facilities. It's a work related thing that was offered to us, so being a proto-trainspotter (no, I don't catalogue the train numbers or memorize schedules, I just like riding trains & metros) I was all about that. In any case, yes, groovy.

Erin went off to work around 7.30, at which point I went out for a walk, stopping to get a new pack of razors. I just had a shave and a shower, and now I'm just hanging out in AC glory, drinking a homemade iced coffee. I'm normally not one for the iced coffee, but today it just sounded good.

Message to be taken away from today's Pitchfork review of the new Streets album (which I need very badly, incidentally): concept albums are OK as long as they're not made by prog or psych bands. Seriously. I wonder what it's like on the planet those guys and girls live on?

I've been doing really well the past few weeks eating (mostly) right, keeping on with my exercise routine, and eschewing the beer (for the most part). The payoff: I think I've lost a bit of weight. I'd still like to lose more, but I already feel better than I did around the start of the month.

For some reason, every month or two I get an issue of "Complex" magazine. It just comes in the mail and I don't know why. I didn't subscribe to it. Perhaps it was one of the multitude of weird mags that Salon used to send me for no reason. I mean, I have no idea what I would've bought or put my name on a list for to get included in the demographic for a hip-hop mag. This month's was pretty good for a change, but it's still strange. Maybe it's all of that Wu-Wear I've been mail-ordering lately.

Today is the kind of day where I could be very happy just staying holed up in the bedroom wasting the day away. Although I should just be happy that I've been able to chill out a bit in the first place.

then / now