in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-17-02 // 4.27 pm

here comes the flood

It's raining right now. It's been raining for the past week or so straight. Someone needs to build an ark or a weather machine or something, because this is starting to get ridiculous.

Meetings at the end of the working day on Friday are bad news. I'm not sure who thinks that this is going to be productive time of day, but anyway... It's just about the weekend. This is a very good thing, as this has been one of the busiest weeks I've had in a long time.

Star Wars rocked. Sure, the majority of the acting and dialogue were wooden, but it doesn't matter. Why? Yoda fight scene. Samuel L. Jackson actually getting to do something this time around. Ewan McGregor turning in one of the movie's few actually good acting performances. Great CGI, too...normally I'm not a big fan of excessive use of computer graphics, but Coruscant looked magnificent, especially the night scenes.

Sitting in the cheesy Denny's Diner last night, with the place packed and the service non-existant...that was incredible. I was tired, I probably wasn't terribly talkative or witty...but it was so wonderful. Erin is the most remarkable conversationalist I've ever met. Seriously. I could sit and talk with her for hours, no days, on end and never be bored. She has an extraoridinary base of knowledge...and it's all informed and intelligent. I like being able to talk about movies, indie rock, world politics, and psychology all in the same hour long span of time.

Erin and I were supposed to go to Chicago this weekend to pick up some of her stuff from her mom's. But her mom flaked out so that trip was wiped out. Though I planned another little mini-mini-break for tomorrow afternoon and Sunday. We're going to Quincy...sounds like a place named after someone's dead great uncle. I've never been before...I like travelling to new places. But yeah. Bring it on. Bring on relaxation. Bring on the Jesus Tree. Bring on the museum of strange Valentines. Bring on exploration, that unique brand of conversation that only occurs in cars, and drives down two lane state highways. Bring on being able to fall asleep in her arms.

then / now