in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-21-02 // 10.20 am

I fell over on the couch again

Right now I really want to listen to some Crowded House. "Together Alone", in particular. Sadly, I didn't think to bring the disc along with me to work. Regardless, I keep singing the songs to myself under my breath. They remind me of Erin, they remind me of not wanting to drive home last night, they remind me of falling asleep with my arms around her on Saturday night.

I'm tired right now...quite tired, actually. But it's not a big deal...that's what coffee is for.

Saw "About a Boy" last night. I hate to be one of those people, but it wasn't nearly as good as the book. The first hour or so was fairly true to form, but the last 45 minutes or so were just completely contrived. Chopped out about 95% of the Marcus/Ellie subplot. The last bit just felt wrong, they sent the plot in a different direction, messed with the characters, and invented a new, feel-good ending. Kind of left a bad taste in my mouth, especially after being pleasantly surprised by first half of the movie. But yeah... In the film's defense, Hugh Grant made a monkey out of me by playing the role of Will perfectly. The kid who played Marcus also did a fine job, and the producers did a great job of keeping the movie English, and in particularly, true to the London surroundings of the novel.

I can't stand that there's this place, this state full of people that makes Erin sad, angry, frustrated, worn out, and worried. I just think of this place, I think of the people she describes to me, and I want to make it vanish, I want it to be gone forever. Because giving her a backrub or massaging the back of her head can temporarily remove the stress and the tension, but it's not really a long term solution. And I want to be the person to provide that solution...even though there really isn't anything I can do. Which frustrates me...I've always been the kind of person who wants to solve problems for people. So, yeah... I just want her to be stress free and worry free...we have a lot of good things to focus on instead.

Cardinals game tonight. That means Busch Stadium, the cut and smell of the grass, the way the stadium floodlights mix with the encroaching dusk. It means gigantic foam fingers, ballpark ice cream, peanuts in the shell, and big cups of beer. I can't wait to be out there in the crisp, late spring air. I can't wait to be there with her. That's the most important (and perfect) bit.

then / now