in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-22-01 // 10.43 am

cure for optimism

I'm sitting here at work. Though I'm not doing any work. It's not because I'm one of those twentysomething 'slackers' you're always hearing about...it's because this is my second day back on the job and I still haven't been given my project assignment! I want to do work, that at least passes the time. But instead, I have to sit here and attempt to kill an 8 hour work day. So boring. I wish I'd had brought my headphones and some CDs.

But yeah, I'm back at the corporation. This summer they've moved me out of the dark, cave-like lab, which was a surprise. Now I'm in an actual office room, complete with lights and a window. A window! I can see the outside world. It's amazing...now I can tell if it's sunny, cloudy or raining by using my own eyes, not having to check the weather channel's website. My new workspace is this weird half-cubicle...it's right near the door, kind of like I'm just out in the passageway between cubes. But also not...I have an alcove if I roll my chair to the left a bit. I think I could hide there.

The current weather is quite nice...a big front rolled through yesterday evening and cooled things way off. It feels like early March today...which is better than the late June it felt like for most of this month.

Something I've just come to realize rather recently: I am attracted to cute girls with computer science or math knowledge. There's just something about a pretty girl talking about data structures or double integrals that's makes her even more attractive. Now, if only the man to woman ratio in this field of study wasn't like a billion to one...well things could be rather cool. And yes, you may call me King Geek.

Oh, and dear readers -- send me email, sign the guestbook...something, anything. It is your responsibility to save me from boredom.

then / now