in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-20-01 // 8.55 pm

bridge may ice over in cold weather

NP: Hefner - "Boxing Hefner"

(I happily bought this CD for 50 cents out of a bargain bin over the weekend)

Now eating cold, leftover pizza and drinking a beer.

Apologies ahead of time if this entry is really disjointed and crazy-sounding. But I'm really loopy at the moment. Of the past four days, I've spent nearly one full one in a car. I just got in a little while ago from a 10 hour journey. I'm having trouble remembering a time when I wasn't in a car.

So yeah, I left Thursday morning for the Mississippi gulf coast. Robyn picked me up around 8am, and we hit the road. The long, long, long road. It was long. After nearly half a day descending into the depths of Dixie, we were at the ocean, in Biloxi, MS. The reason of course, was to see Adam. After Robyn and I checked into our (cheap, beachfront) motel, we went and got Adam from the Air Force base. Now, I hadn't seen him in person since October. Granted we've IMed and emailed, but not hung out for more than six months. So it was really great to make it down there and have some fun in the time-accustomed manner. A lot of the time his Air Force friends were there too, so we didn't get to talk as much as I'd have liked, but we managed some.

The beach was beautiful. I've been to the ocean before...the Pacific down in LA about ten years ago, and to the Atlantic at Virginia Beach about five years ago. But neither of those were as spellbinding as the beach on the gulf was. White sand beaches, the most gorgeous breeze blowing off the sea at all hours. It made me want to sleep on the beach and say goodbye to my bed forever.

Thursday night Robyn and I walked along the beach for the longest time, letting the water wash over our bare feet. Finally we sat down and dug our feet into the sand, and just sat there and talked, joked, looked at the stars, etc.

Friday night whilst at the mall, killing time before the movie we were about to see, we jumped into an arcade. It was there that I witnessed the World's Greatest Centipede Player. This guy was amazing...such control of the trackball, such rapid-fire precision on the blaster. The coolest part was that this guy had to have been at least 70 years old. He wore a pinstripe suit, had white hair and a white beard, walked with a cane, and didn't talk much. After watching him get the 5th highest score on the Centipede machine (7 other top scores were also his), I tried to go up to him and shake his hand. I was genuinely impressed. Sadly he hobbled away before I could speak up.

Adventure on today's drive home: getting caught this afternoon in the most torrential downpour ever about 10 miles south of Memphis. Seriously, I thought the car was going to be washed away in some sort of biblical flood.

Tomorrow I have to go back to work. Yeah, 40 hours/week, windowless-office, cubicle-dwelling, code writing, business casual wearing work. But hey, I'm desperately in need of the money, so bring it on!

Now it's time to end this, as I still have to put away stuff, figure out what I'm going to wear tomorrow, and work on replying to some of the messages in the mountain of email that piled up while I was gone.

then / now