in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-26-03 // 11.26 am

turning rebellion into money

(NP: Live - Heaven)

Live have become a "one or two good songs per album" band, which is somewhat saddening. Praise Zarquon for iTunes downloads, though, as now I can actually just buy the good songs.

The next door neighbors still have that horrible wailing baby. I realize that it's a baby's sole purpose in life to eat, sleep, and screech like a wild animal, but this particular one is some sort of super baby. It cries constantly, and its screams are particularly ear piercing. What really gets me, though, is that this isn't a newborn, I think the kid is like 2 or 3 years old at this point. Toddler age, regardless.

I'm sitting at the kitchen table burning CDs, listening to music, and drinking coffee. I'm thinking about how nice the long weekend has been for my state of mind, and how I cringe a bit when I think about how tomorrow I have to go back to work. It'll only be a four day week, but I'd kill for the rest of this week off, for a proper vacation. Maybe once my current project is over I'll put in for a week off. I should have loads of vacation time built up by then. And then I'll do it right -- have nine days (that's including weekends) away from the office. I'll sleep in every day, laze about doing nothing at all part of the time, and maybe take a few little day trips with Erin here and there. Ah...sounds quite nice.

(The Clash - White Man In Hammersmith Palais)

For some reason I was watching "Chasing Amy" on TV yesterday afternoon (the dialogue was overdubbed to hell by the Oxygen network, to hilarious effect), and it got me thinking that somehow Kevin Smith has managed to create this entire subgenre of work about New Jersey. It just strikes me as strange, despite the fact that I'm a huge fan of his. I should make a movie about where I'm from. Though that would be a monumentally bad idea, as for one thing, nobody cares about where I'm from, and also, I can't write fiction. I have a glaring problem with being able to write believable and interesting dialogue.

(The Jam - The Eton Rifles)

Had a very nice geekfest (Erin's nomenclature) with Ryan S on Saturday night. We watched the DVD of "Star Trek: Nemesis", ate junk food, drank (I had Carlsberg for the first time in ages), had a game of Magic (I won -- blue/red deck over Ryan's white/red one), and just hung out and talked about things. Which is cool, considering we don't get to do things like that as often these days. I am happy, however, that despite the fact that we each have more going on in our lives these days, we still make time to meet up once a week or every other week.

(Massive Attack - Protection)

Went to Erin's grandparents' house for dinner yesterday, it was her grandpa's birthday. It took me forever to adjust to her family, as they're loud, boisterous, and constantly squabbling over things. In contrast, my family is calm, we don't raise our voices, and we have laid back discussions. Neither way is "better", but it did take me a long time before I really understood Erin's family's dynamic. I've always liked them as people, but I didn't always feel comfortable with myself in knowing how to relate to their household, if that makes any sense. Though like I said, that's all past now, and frankly, I'm honored in that they treat me like one of their family, even if I do look a bit bewildered at times.

(Marillion - Bitter Suite)

I think this afternoon I will take a leisurely shower, watch a movie, take a walk, and absorb what's left of this Memorial Day. Summer is almost here, and I for one couldn't be happier about it.

then / now