in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-22-03 // 3.31 pm

heart beats like a refugee machine

(NP: Green Day - Basket Case)

Yesterday was a hellish one. I had one outstanding coding issue remaining, I couldn't get it to work out no matter what I tried, and could feel deadlines and managers breathing down my neck. I worked at a breakneck pace for 10 hours (two or so of them spent dealing with bureaucratic configuration management people) to little avail, and before my brain could take no more, I scribbled down an approach to try to solve my problem. A night's rest must've done me a world of good, as first thing this morning I made the changes I thought up last night, and what do you know, they worked and they worked well. I was quite pleased. So now I can move on, and I'm finally getting a feeling of real progress, which is something that was lacking yesterday and was the root cause of the despair I felt leaving the office last night. Hopefully these trends continue.

(Manics - Methadone Pretty)

Once I got home last night, I was quiet, unresponsive, and introverted. I was a bit of a bastard, but not much...mostly just me sprawled out on the couch, trying to get my brain to stop feeling numb. I listened to music, read a bit, and kind of just sat there doing nothing for a while. I realize it doesn't make me much in the way of pleasant company, but sometimes I just need an evening like that to decompress. Better to be noncommunicative than to snap at people, in any case.

(Texas - Summer Son)

Ugh, I wish I knew what else to write about at the moment but my brain is seriously pretty fried. Better entires to follow in the coming days, I'm sure. But yeah, I'm looking forward to solid but not insane levels of work for the rest of the week, and then a nice, relaxing three day weekend. Tonight I'd like to do something fun with Erin, and chill the hell out. I don't like myself when I'm overwhelmed by work.

then / now