in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-29-03 // 3.34 pm

you know my bip boppin' days are over

NP: Belle & Sebastian - "Tigermilk"

Alarm went off at 6.30 this morning, and I reset it for half an hour later and went back to bed. Though it was one of those sleeps where you seem to wake up every ten minutes, never actually falling soundly asleep.

Went out to my car around 7.45 and noticed that overnight, someone had vandalized it, cutting the license plate tags off both plates. Seriously, whomever it was just took metal cutting shears or something along those lines and half cut, half tore the bottom right hand quarter of each plate off. This is actually a fairly common occurrence in Missouri, especially so in the large urban areas like St. Louis and Kansas City. They're taken for a variety of reasons. But I digress. So I first went to the police station and filed a report. The officer was actually really nice, considering that they were dealing with my (relatively) trivial request when they were also dealing with a school bus on fire about a mile away. So, with report on file, I then went over to the DMV, where I miraculously didn't have to stand in line for two hours like just about every other time I've been there in my life. Apparently their computers were acting up, which is something I just sit back and bear out, knowing from my line of work that computers are always going down. A woman two tellers over was way pissed off, though, and yelled out "can anyone finish this for me?!" and got all indignant. Not very attractive there, lady. So after paying $17 for the priviledge of getting new plates and tags (I could get them free but for that to happen I'd have to have a printed copy of my police report, and the police charge for that, so it was easier just to pay the DMV), I was on my way. Stopped on my way at a QT and got a soda with a "free bottle" cap I had in my car, and proceeded to win another free bottle with the cap from this new bottle. That was probably the first good thing to happen to me all day. I rolled in to work about an hour and change later than I normally do, and here I am. Whew.

Otherwise, I'm just getting my work on today. It's steady work, not too killer but not a cakewalk, either. I did solve several mysteries that have been plaguing me for several days, though, so that is good.

Meeting Erin and Ryan S for Korean food this evening after work. I am definitely in the mood for a big plate of kimchee, bulgogi & noodles and a bottle of beer.

No time for anything else at the moment, it's a "just the facts, ma'am" kind of day. And with that I'm out. Later gators.

then / now