in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-29-03 // 11.01 pm

jay leno vs. marvelous marvin haggler

NP: Depeche Mode - "Black Celebration"

Thursday night is the new Friday. At least it sure feels like it sometimes. Ugh. Despite that this has been a relatively normal and actually slightly shorter week, it feels like a geological age. For some reason, I feel like getting very drunk and then sleeping till noon tomorrow. Can't do that, but yeah...

So instead I'm sitting here with shit TV on in the background, ripping a few more CDs, and drinking a few beers (Tsingtao, mmmm). Erin went with John to the Atomic Cowboy. I left them to it, as I don't really like the place. It's pretentious...yuppies breakdancing like it's 1985 and $4 bottles of domestic beer. Fuck that. If I'm doing pretentious, it's pretension my own style, in an English pub where I'm not accosted by disco balls and modern art. I dunno, if I'm going to go out for a drink, I'd rather do it during the middle of the week, so to minimize the crowds. There's something to be said for the energy of a packed bar, but to be honest, 9 times out of 10 I just want a place to have a quiet drink. Sometimes I really do think I'm a 50 year old man trapped in a 23 year old's body. Which I've come to terms with, but sometimes I think Erin gets frustrated by.

I once saw a rather cool looking t-shirt with a picture of Chairman Mao on it, with the portrait ringed by Chinese characters. I was this close to buying it, but then I second guessed myself, the reasoning being that I really had no idea what the writing actually said. It probably said something like "stupid fucking American can't read". Which is funny, because that's the sort of thing I always secretly hope those kanji hats and tattoos people have really say.

Why is it that I'm only ever on IM like twice a month, and one of those times, nobody at all on my list will be on? Bah to that.

I seem to have rambled myself out, so that's all for now. Time to raid the fridge.

then / now