in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-12-04 // 8.11 pm

button your lip, and don't let the shields slip

NP: Pink Floyd - "The Final Cut"

I'm anxiously awaiting the remaster of this one. It's still one of my favorite Roger Waters moments. I was telling Dave the other day how I think this record always gets so maligned simply because it has the Floyd name attached to it instead of the Roger Waters tag it really should have. If you're looking for more of "The Wall" or even the early-to-mid-70s Floyd stuff, I can see how this one would put you off. It has everything in common with the later Rog solo albums that would follow it.

I bought the new Moz album the other day. I'm still digesting it, but so far so good. Much improved on his last one, anyway. Granted that was seven years ago, but I digress.

In the same visit to Best Buy I also grabbed the Keane album. Part of me keeps thinking "there's only so much you can do with the whole Travis/Coldplay/Britpop sort of thing", although I like the whole no guitars, just piano deal. The singer's interesting, too -- his best moments have a sort of "Freddie Mercury singing Don't Stop Me Now" vibe.

I also ordered the new Matt Good album. Hooray for Matt Good & his White Light Rock n Roll Review. Of course, it has to be shipped from Canada, and the money I save with the favorable conversion rate on the CD itself is nullified by the huge shipping rate. Even converting from C$ to US$ doesn't soften the blow. But I suppose twenty bucks is still a decent enough price to pay to enjoy the latest from Mr. Good.

Did I mention that Marillion are finally touring the States? I've only been waiting seven years... But yes, it looks like Erin and I will drive up to Chicago (I hope the gig's at the Metro) for that show, and then I might fly out to Baltimore to meet up with my friends Ron and Laurie, at which point we'd head to the DC and Philadelphia dates. But we'll see about that as it gets closer. Regardless, I'm super psyched, despite the fact that I won't truly believe it's happening until I'm there in the theater hearing the opening notes.

It's the weekend, finally. All week at work I'd been covering for my test lead (who's been out all week due to a death in his family), which isn't a big deal but it left me rather tired come Friday. Lots of annoying emergency meetings midweek. Also, at one point early in the week my manager told me that he wants me to fly out to DC for a few days in a couple of weeks to train with the test automation lead. Business trip, wah hey. They even sent me a corporate credit card to book the travel with, etc. Hmmm. Hopefully at least this means I'll be able to book myself a nonstop flight. Last time they stuck me with layovers, how tacky is that?

But yes, the weekend. Went last night to the Catholic War Vets just outside my parents' village for a fish fry. Met up with most of my extended family -- the place was jam packed, but the fish was good and the beer was cheap and plentiful, so it's all good. It was one of those sticky, still Midwestern summer evenings. Stifling and sweaty, but in a good way if that makes sense. Not that I wasn't happy to get back to the AC later that night, though.

Met up with my sister for coffee this morning. We went to the Loop, had a cup and talked for a while, it was cool. It was a cool, gray morning which was odd but welcome. I love the Loop at that time of the day, especially on a Saturday. It's fairly deserted, at least by its usual standards. All of the sidewalk tables are stacked up and the buskers aren't out yet. Great stuff.

Otherwise today Erin and I have just been hanging out. We went to a bookshop so she could get some paperbacks, we went grocery shopping, went to World News for a while, etc. Just regular Saturday errand type stuff, but it's so welcome considering she worked every single Saturday afternoon from mid-January through mid-May.

Not much doing now, I just got back from a walk & I'm half watching the Cards game on TV. Probably gonna drink a beer and order a pizza later, watch SNL, no big whoop.

That's all.

then / now