in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-17-01 // 11.21 pm

working night and day, I try to get ahead

NP: Blue Nile - "Hats"

Friday night I picked up Ryan and we went to U City for a curry & some hanging around on Delmar. A chicken vindaloo and bottle of Kingfisher later, and we were on our way down to the shops & cafes on the Loop. We ducked into a used book shop where we discovered a pile of free tickets to an upcoming hair metal type concert extravaganza starrin Poison, Warrant, and Quiet Riot. So at the end of July, we're gonna go and get our glam metal grooves on. It's mostly gonna just me sitting there laughing at the performers and concert attendees, but hey, it's a free ticket to a hair metal nostalgia tour. Like the music or not, you really have to go.

Saturday I took my dad up to Chicago for a Cubs game, sort of a birthday / Father's Day / hanging-out kind of thing. It was a ton of fun...the interior of Wrigley Field is even more gorgeous in person than I ever dreamed it could be. Dad seemed to have a good time, which made me happy seeing as how we don't do stuff together that much anymore. It was good to find an excuse for us to spend the weekend together.

Not a single person on my IM or MSN messenger lists are online at the moment. It's just one of those evenings...I think that I would like someone to talk with.

Riding the train Saturday night made me long for a girl. Not any particular girl, really, but one who would appreciate the inherent beauty / sadness / tiredness you feel when on a late night train. I wished she was there right next to me, her head on my shoulder, us leaning against each other in our seats as the train rattled along the track. The city is full of wonder & longing...it amplifies loneliness. I think you feel smaller when you're on the street down inbetween two buildings so tall they block out the sun. You start to feel insignificant & having someone else there with you fights that off.

These days I'm not really in the business of longing after the unattainable...I'd like to think that recently I've learned a lesson about waiting & keeping the faith & just getting on with my life. But still, no matter what I get into my head, it doesn't change the fact that occasionally I am reminded that a girl is warm and I am human.

then / now