in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-20-01 // 9.57 am

got sunshine in a bag

Yesterday was not the best day for me. Woke up with a vaguely unsettled feeling after a less-than-perfect night's sleep...then there was the Aline related drama...there was the long day at work where an unknown error kept preventing my program from compiling correctly...and when I got home I had to mow the lawn in 90+ degree heat (with added humidity).

But on the plus side, I picked up the Gorillaz album, which came out yesterday here in the States (it's about time). Despite the fact that the LP is just altogether too lengthy (near the end songs just seem to fade into one another), it's a great listen & a ton of fun. If ever you hoped Damon Albarn would team up with a DJ, an old-school rapper, a hyperactive Japanese indie pop guitarst, and a cult comic book artist, all under the guise of a group of cartoon, urban-dwelling monkeys & apes....well now you've got your wish.

Tomorrow night is the Doves gig at the Galaxy. I wish someone was coming with me, but hell, I've never been one to miss great shows just because I'd have to go alone. So yeah, I'll be there, bottle of Newcastle Brown in my hand, gettin' my Brit/psychedelic/indie groove on. It's nice that they finally opened the new metro line, so now I only have to drive a few miles from my house & can catch the train from there. I hate driving into the city...public transportation rules.

then / now