in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-17-03 // 10.32 am

won't you smile you look so shocked

(NP: Don Henley - The End Of The Innocence)

To this day I still wish Bruce Hornsby would've recorded this himself rather than give it to Henley. I mean, the music is still pure Hornsby (love those piano runs...mmm), but Henley is infinitely more whiny. Oh well.

June is flying by. The change of seasons from spring to summer has happened seemingly overnight, though in reality it's just that I've been so preoccupied that I haven't noticed the gradual change.

Work is slowing down a bit for the moment, but I'm not getting too comfortable yet, as it seems that things here can go from "false sense of calm" to "utterly fucking mad" in ridiculously short spans of time.

Erin started her new job the other day. Sore feet aside, she seems happy at a job for a change, all of which makes me happy. Hopefully the work makes good on their promises of a sales position and a flexible schedule so she can go back to college.

(Matthew Sweet - Sick Of Myself)

Saw a lot of my family this past Sunday, then went in to work for three and a half hours. A busy day. Productive, but far too busy. But that's how it goes sometimes.

I was in the shower yesterday morning when all of the sudden, the left side of my neck started to hurt like hell. It got sore and stiff, like I'd strained a muscle or something. In any case, it made turning my head to the left incredibly painful. Even laying down hurt quite a bit. I toughed it out at work, and once I got home Erin gave me a massage, plus later I kept applying towels soaked in hot water to the area and massaging a bit more. Sleep was a bit uncomfortable, but the end result is that + a day's time has made me feel much better. There's still some soreness and discomfort, but I'd say I'm at about 80% now, which is a relief.

(Get Up Kids - Wish You Were Here)

The bachelor party was loads of fun, though it did have the effect of prolonging my fatigue from the rest of that week. In any case, it was a good time for the most part. We did go to the obligatory strip club, though to be honest, it was a bit boring, not to mention degrading, both to the performers and the attendees. I don't think we'd have even bothered to go had it not been for Steve's insistence (the fact that he was the designated driver didn't hurt him getting his way). But yeah, for me the quality was in just getting to see my friends all together in one place for the first time in ages. We bowled, we ate at Denny's, we searched Carbondale city center for a hidden, basement bar, and we played stupid board games. It was a blast, and the sort of thing I need once in a while, you know? But after a all-too-short half night's sleep on a couch in my clothes, and a matinee the next afternoon, I was more than ready to come home.

(Ben Folds Five - Eddie Walker)

I keep getting calls on my work phone for people who think I'm a computer repair shop. I've mentioned this before, I'm pretty sure of it. But yeah, I used to actually say my company name and then my name when I answered the phone, but no-one ever payed attention, and they still thought I was the computer shop. So now I just answer with my name. It's less effort for me on something that people don't seem to notice anyway. I keep meaning to mess with people who call me like that, for instance saying "yeah, come on down this afternoon, I'll cut you a special, anything in our shop is 50% off. Just tell 'em Mike sent you." Though I don't think I'd ever actually go through with it, it just seems mean for meanness' sake.

(Midnight Oil - Bedlam Bridge)

Aside from stifling afternoon heat (and that slimy warmth at dawn), I'm quite enjoying summer. Summer means baseball and lager, it means long dusks and it actually still being light out when I leave work. It means green everything (well, at least until late July and August when most everything is a burnt brown) and driving around at night with the windows down. It means outdoor dining on the Loop with Erin and fish stand fish in my parents' village.

(ABC - Poison Arrow)

Ryan H, Erin and myself will, with luck in getting tickets from w.a.s.t.e. or Ticketmaster, be seeing Radiohead at Riverport in late August. Tickets probably won't be cheap, but Radiohead are one of the few live acts that I don't mind shelling out for. It's still funny to me to think that last time the band played St. Louis it was 1997 on the "OK Computer" tour and they played the closet-like environs of the Galaxy. Boggles the mind.

(Blur - Out Of Time)

I truly feel like I could go on all day here, but I should end this and get moving on the rest of my day. I suppose that fact is sort of ironic, considering that my goal for the rest of the day is to avoid scrutiny and not do much of anything for a change.

then / now