in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-27-02 // 8.43 am

sempre precisei de um pouco de aten��o

NP: Legi�o Urbana - "Ac�stico"

Renato Russo was such an eloquent songwriter and speaker. I've always regretted that I'm not a native speaker of Portuguese...I mean, I can sometimes get the gist of what he's saying in liner notes and in between-song live banter, and (with a little bit of help) understand the lyrics of the songs. But I'm missing a lot of idioms, and some songs are so full of slang and conversational phrases that they're almost rendered meaningless to me. Oh well. The funny thing is, Russo lived in New York for years as a child, and he also spoke English and Italian, fluently. Though he only seemed to ever sing covers in those languages. Eh. Such talent, though...a shame he's gone.

The cat keeps biting my feet. Every night, and every morning, without fail. Sometimes, even in the evening when I come home from work. I don't quite understand it, to be honest. I feed him every time he's out of food and water, which is like three times per day. I pet him, I play with him, I treat him well. And he bites me, like I'm a stranger in his house.

Last night I was tired and headachey and irritable and just out of it for no particular reason. I hate when I get like that...it's not fair to other people. I did have a fun time going out with Erin and everyone, though. There was this lady working the counter at Bath & Body Works, she had what seemed like a southern English accent...she said she was from London, and when I asked what part of the city, she just ignored me. Shady. She was probably just faking it...I mean, she didn't even comment on the Newcastle Utd shirt I was wearing. Though maybe she was just a jealous West Ham or Tottenham fan.

Erin bought a new pair of cosmetic glasses last night at the mall...she looks incredibly sexy in them. I mean, she's always sexy (seriously, she's gorgeous...she never believes me, but every single thing about her, inside and out, radiates beauty and pure sexiness), but yeah, it's been a while...I'd forgotten how absolutely hot she looks with glasses on. Mmm...Erin. I know the work day is still young, but I can't wait for it to end so I can go back to her.

Christ, the people in this lab are so damn loud. Plus, there's this one guy with the most terrible, braying laugh...

Apparently last night, while I was out getting Erin more mineral water, her friends were debating whether or not I'm "pussy-whipped". OK, first of all, I hate that term. It sounds like something bitter, unhappily married middle aged men say. Secondly, I'm not entirely sure it's their place to be passing judgement on me. Hrm...I just like doing things for Erin, I enjoy being kind and considerate. I love her...you do things for the person you love. If that makes me a wimp or "whipped" or less of a man or whatever other macho bullshit is popular this week, well, fuck off.

I want it to be the weekend, like, right now. Ugh.

then / now