in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-26-02 // 8.21 am

see the signs and know their meaning

NP: 10,000 Maniacs - "Our Time in Eden"

A little while ago, as I turned onto the road that runs by my office complex, I noticed something on the shoulder of the road. Upon closer inspection it was...a guy with a backpack and a beard, dragging a gigantic white cross on wheels. He was just rolling it along, pretty determinedly. It was more than a bit surreal.

There were tons of cars in the lot when I pulled in. It was odd, considering I'm usually one of the first people at the office every morning. I dunno, it seemed like there were more cars out there than there are people who normally work here. Upon further inspection, a lot of the plates had military and other government markings, so I guess there's some sort of high-level meeting going on here today.

Among the out-of-the-ordinary cars, one had Ohio plates. Which immediately made me bristle. Must be some sort of sympathetic reaction...or perhaps I've just been conditioned, after hearing Erin yell at any passing or parked car from said state. Not that I blame her. Horrid place filled with horrid people that only make her sad and anxious.

I want to be back home, laying in bed, arms wrapped around her, sheet over our bodies. I wanted to stay there instead of going to work. I wanted to stay like that forever.

then / now