in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-2-02 // 3.35 pm

took a leap and I landed on the moon

NP: Marillion - "Anorak in the UK"

Today is one of those days where I just keep thinking to myself "I want to go home, I really want to go home right now". Getting out of bed this morning was difficult. Not so much because I was tired (I mean, I wouldn't have said no to a few more hours of sleep, but yeah), but because I just didn't want to get up. I didn't want to get dressed, I didn't want to make my drive to the office, I didn't want to sit in front of a computer all day. I wanted to stay home. I wanted to stay with my arms around Erin. I wanted to be there, warm, safe, happy, with my face up against hers.

Yesterday was Canada Day. I'm not Canadian, but Erin and I celebrated anyway. This mostly involved drinking Molson, playing a bottle cap related drinking game, talking about Canada, etc. Oh, and we also went out for curry earlier in the evening, which we figured is at least loosely related to Canada. You know, Canada was a British dominion, Britain took over India and then acquired a fondness for its food... It's a whole Six Degrees of the British Commonwealth thing. Or not, it probably doesn't make any sense to anyone but us. Oh well. Also, I listened to a Matt Good Band album at work. Couldn't be more Canadian unless I was wrestling a grizzly bear with Dave Foley and the front line of the Toronto Maple Leafs, all while eating Kraft dinner with maple syrup on.

It's official, we're getting a second cat. Erin and I went to the Humane Society yesterday after work, and found Max. He's about 8 months old, gray, and extremely cute and friendly. We can't officially adopt him and bring him home until tomorrow, though...I have to drive to the landlord's office in the afternoon, pay another chunk of money for a second pet deposit, and get a receipt to take to the humane society office. Then they'll let us have Max. So much bureacracy involved in this, both from the landlord and the humane society. But whatever, it's cool. It'll all be done with soon.

I had my annual performance review thing here at work today. I was a bit nervous -- not for any particular reason, but just because... I don't know, the whole process sort of has that whole "waiting to be called into the principal's office" vibe left over from grade school. Not that I was a poorly behaved kid or anything, but I'm sure everyone's familiar with that feeling. But anyway, the review turned out to be extremely positive. They like the work I'm doing, how I'm doing it, etc. Apparently there's even the chance I could get a small raise in a few months. I'm not holding my breath, but it'd be cool, what with the car payments and student loan payments and rent and everything else.

Still half an hour or so till I can get out of here. Why is it that time seems to slow down the most precisely when you want it to fly by? I guess it's the whole "a watched pot never boils" thing, but still... Grrr. I want to go home.

then / now