in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-8-02 // 9.20 am

space defines the borderline

NP: James - "Pleased to Meet You"

I've been dreading all weekend coming back to work, because I knew when I returned, I'd have to dive into the task of testing the 20-odd procedures I'd been working on the past few weeks. Though a few minuts ago, my day got a bit less insane -- one of my coworkers clued me in that he'd worked on something similar recently, and that he has a bunch of test cases and such that I can look at to get a head start, etc. Which is monumentally good news. Not that I can't do it otherwise, but yeah...that's a lot of procedures to test.

Speaking of work, did I mention that I didn't want to come in at all this morning? If I didn't already know that I had a ton of stuff to take care of today, it would have been extremely tempting to just call in and take one more day off.

The 4th of July was incredible. Cardinals game was a nail-biter, plus a huge cloud parked itself in front of the sun, so things weren't too hot. The hotel screwed up my reservation...well, they correctly put me on one of the top floors, but instead of a room that faced the river, the arch, and all of the fireworks, they gave me a room facing the exact opposite direction. It all worked out alright, though...we just headed down to the plaza next door and watched the fireworks exploding over the backdrop of the arch, the old courthouse, and all of the office blocks near there. Brilliant. Oh, and back up in our hotel room, we were able to sit at the window and watch fireworks displays going off all across the city. It was awe-inspiring, like being up on a cloud, or being omniscient. It was perfect. No, being able to share all of that with Erin...that was perfect.

We got our new cat. Well, not the one we'd originally planned on...see, the humane society apparently saw it fit to give our cat away to someone else. They told us we could come in on Friday afternoon to pick him up, but when we got there, he was gone. Yeah. Rest assured, we were livid. I could barely contain myself...the kicker was that the woman I was dealing with wasn't sympathetic, she didn't say "I'm sorry". She was cold. And it was uncalled for, and it made me angry. It made me doubly angry as it also upset Erin. Grrr. But yeah, we ended up with a kitty. We went to the veterninarian attached to the local Petsmart, and they had a bunch of kittens to adopt. So we picked out a cute, playful, orange stripey one...we named her Corona. Yeah, after the beer. So sue me, she's the same color, plus it just rolls off the tongue. So far, she and Meowie have been getting along fairly well, though they scrap occasionally. Sometimes on the bed. While we're trying to sleep. I don't mind having the cats on the bed, except when they decide to fight at my feet or walk around on my head all night. Yeah. But she's cute, and great, and Meowie seems calmer and happier now. So it's all good.

Mondays are terrible. I just want to do my work thing, get out of here, and go home to Erin. That's where I belong.

then / now