in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-2-04 // 6.14 pm

a notion of emotion

NP: Wilco - "A Ghost Is Born"

Born out of a big egg sitting in a photography studio, apparently.

The album is pretty good, at least on first listen. I'll need more time to decide where I think it stacks up with the rest of the Wilco catalogue. One brutal flaw that I must mention right now -- Less Than You Think doesn't need 10+ minutes of high pitched random noise tacked on to the end. Apparently it's meant to convey the pain Tweedy's migraines were causing, and while I appreciate the attempt, it adds nothing to the song, it's Metal Machine Music.

This has been a busy and occasionally stupid week. The fact that nothing at work is constant means the parts of my project I don't control keep sliding around, meaning every day it seems like I have to change what I did the day before. My kingdom for a solid requirements and design baseline.

That was boring.

What the fuck does John Kerry stand for? He stands for not being Bush. That's about all I can figure out, and it doesn't cut it for me. Probably not a revelation to anyone, that, but that's what really bothers me about the current mainstream political situation. I know I ranted about this last time, but I just had to keep going here.

But enough of this. The crystal ball says that Chinese delivery and bottles of beer are in my immediate future.

I was saying boo-urns...

then / now