in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-12-03 // 12.48 am

a wolf at the door

Erin's out with her mom (who just arrived tonight from Florida for a visit) and I've been enjoying a fairly leisurely Friday night around the house. Been watching baseball, eating steamed vegetables and a microwave tikka masala, wrapping a wedding present, taking a walk, doing a load of laundry, listening to tunes (got that new Mars Volta record -- it's bizarre and heart-warming to know that this world has a place for something that sounds like a punk rock Rush), drinking far too much soda (no beer for a few weeks while I'm on antibiotics), and reading Q. It's been a good night, though I do miss Erin as I haven't seen her all day.

So yes, tomorrow is Jared's wedding, which means driving to Carbondale and wearing a suit jacket, which for some reason I'm oddly excited about. I'm very happy for Jared, as he deserves to find love. He's always been a very gentle and sincere person, which I admire. Though being gentle and sincere also seems to lead to getting stepped on a lot in life, so I'm glad that things are working out for him, both romantically and career-wise. That wasn't supposed to sound patronizing, incidentally, just in case it did, as I really mean it.

I'm sick of reading/hearing about the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. I'm also getting very tired of anything that claimes to be influenced by garage rock. Can we also please get rid of the "ironic" metal t-shirts and shaggy '70s style beards? Also, all further references to electroclash, please substitute the less pretentious "synthpop". Call a spade a spade, eh? Oh, and one last thing -- cease and desist immediately all smarmy pop-punk bands releasing covers as singles. Recently I've heard whiny, chugging versions of both The Boys Of Summer and Surrender. The madness must stop, for the sake of this and future generations.

I worry about Thom Yorke sometimes. He seems like he needs a drink, a nap, to attend a series of university level lectures, and a hug -- in that precise order. I realize that he's more or less a well balanced person, though. He has a child and a long term girlfriend whom he seems to love very, very much. He's a regular guy. The media just like to and know how to push his buttons. Plus, they can sell more magazines with tales of the "hermetic, imbalanced sourpuss".

I should sleep now, I have a long day ahead of myself. Adios.

then / now