in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-8-03 // 5.59 pm

"piranhas are a very tricky species"

I have an ear infection. It figures that the one time I forget to use swimmer's ear drops after getting in the pool I develop something. So yeah, yesterday I went to the doctor and then got two prescriptions filled. Currently, I can barely hear out of my right ear, which feels like it's filled up with cotton.

I would like to hereby enter a plea for simplification in terminology. For example, a 'graphic novel' is really just 'a gigantic comic book'. I've always instisted this. A 'barrista' is actually 'that girl behind the counter who serves you coffee'. Not to diminish her role, but still.

It's nearly six o'clock and I'm still at work. I've spent the 10+ hours I've been here today mostly waiting. Waiting for this damn database reload that was supposed to be done when I came in this morning, waiting for an install package to finish installing. But no. The vast majority of my day has been a waste. And it figures that in like ten minutes, the install will be done and I'll have to get working. Though I've already stated I'm staying no longer than seven o'clock.

I have the desire to watch a lot of movies. It'd be cool to be able to take the day off tomorrow and just watch a load of movies, all in a row. I think I'd like to put on "High Fidelity", "The Big Lebowski", "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", "Kicking And Screaming", and "Clerks", in that order. Sadly, I have to work tomorrow. But it's a pleasant thought, innit?

Ugh.

then / now