in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-14-03 // 10.27 pm

"imagine yourself livin' in the supermarket"

A home-cooked chicken madras and "High Fidelity" on TV is good for what ails you. Today still mostly sucked, but I'm not super hassled and pissed off anymore, which is good.

You know a curry is good when it releases all of those great spicy food endorphins into your bloodstream post-meal. Plus there's that radioactive burning warmth in your stomach as it digests. There's a fine line between that feeling and indigestion, but when you're on the good side of it, it's almost like that feeling of a shot of whiskey or vodka when it settles in your belly.

I think that I've finally come to terms with the summer. It doesn't hurt that it hasn't been quite so murderously hot this week. But still, it's all good. Though what I would really love right now is one of those steady all-evening and all-night sort of rains. You know the sort, where you can sit all evening watching it come down, and then listen to it on the roof and windows while you sleep. It's massively comforting.

Oh, Jared's wedding was wonderful. The ceremony was short and direct, yet still not slight. There was a short drinks/hors d'oeuvres interlude and then it was time for dinner and dancing in the main ballroom. The whole affair was very intimate and well done. Bride and groom looked fantastic, and I think everyone had a great time. Nice to be able to spend a bit of time with everyone that I don't see very often, as well. Left around 9 o'clock after lots of dancing, talking and goofing around, and then Erin and I ate a quick snack at a gyro place on the C'dale strip. It was kind of funny, us sitting there, Erin in her dress and me in my shirt and jacket, eating gyros, hot dogs and fries. So yeah, it was a two hour drive back to St. Louis somewhat late in the evening, but it didn't matter. I had the Blue Nile on the car stereo and Erin was dozing off in the passenger seat. I put my hand on her side, watched the exit ramps speed by, and felt incredibly content.

An anthropomorphic oven mitt is about to sing "Volare" (I think), which is as good a cue as any to say goodnight.

Goodnight.

then / now