in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-16-03 // 9.22 am

and you drive to europe in the rain

NP: Howie Day - "Australia"

You know the feeling you get once in a while where you walk in the door at work first thing in the morning and your body and brain immediately start telling you that they can't deal with it at all on this particular day? That's how I feel today. I do not want to be here at this office, in this lab, in this cube, behind this desk. I don't know why, but I'm feeling very ill at ease.

Erin is working a shift today which basically dictates that she will leave for work at roughly the same time my working day is winding down. So once again I won't get to see her till late in the evening. In addition, I know that once I get home from work, there's a long list of chores and errands that require my attention, and by the time Erin gets home, we'll both be far too exhausted for conversation, for going out, for...well, anything. That makes me sad.

I want to go back to the UK. I want to drink in the bowling alley bar again. I want to take a very long walk -- I'd like to sweat and feel that sense of accomplishment. I want to eat a cheap, filling red curry with eggplant in one of the dodgy Thai places on the Loop. I want to spend an entire afternoon playing a big multiplayer game of Magic. I'd like to go out for a nice dinner with Erin and spend the whole night talking and laughing.

If Paul Weller was writing Jam songs today, he'd probably be sponsored by a chocolate bar manufacturer and would write "That's Edutainment!"

I'm talking shit today, don't mind me.

then / now