in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-22-02 // 11.43 am

there's four new colours in the rainbow

NP: James - "Getting Away With It...Live"

So apparently, Erin and I have to pay the sales tax on our recently acquired cars when we go in to register them. I called the dealership, and according to them, in Missouri, sales tax on cars isn't automatically figured in, not unless you specifically request it to be done. Of course, they didn't mention this to us, and they didn't ask if we'd like to add the tax in there. Which is bullshit. I dunno, it's just extremely annoying.

Had a rushed and busy, yet ultimately enjoyable weekend. Spent a lot of time driving back and forth, signing papers for Erin's car, dropping it off to be emissions tested. Ran a lot of errands...I guess we just weren't home that much, didn't get in as much lounging time as we usually like to get on weekends. Didn't manage to have breakfast at home, either. Which is something I think we both really relish. But we did relax some...listened to music, played some Mad Libs, cooked curry last night. Friday and Saturday, Erin restocked on art supplies, so she drew and painted a lot. I even got in on the act a bit, painting some coral and squids on an undersea scene. Thankfully, my contributions are only over in the rightmost third of the canvas...there's still a good two-thirds of the thing untainted by my non-talent. Though to be honest, the squids did turn out slightly better than I thought they would. Erin has talent, though. I've said that before, but yeah...she's good. I love watching her design and create, I mean, she knows exactly what she's doing. I've always enjoyed watching someone in their element, doing something that they have command of.

Most mornings, despite the fact that the alarm goes off at a ridiculously early hour, and that I don't want to get out of bed at all, I do so anyway. I stumble out, grumble and groan, and turn off the clock radio blaring whatever it is radios play at six-something in the morning. Then I take a shower, while Erin catches a few more minutes of shuteye. But this morning, I was kicking and screaming against consciousness. The alarm went off, I groaned extra-loudly, got up, turned off the alarm, went straight back underneath the sheets, and wrapped my arms back around Erin. We laid there for ages, like half an hour or longer, just holding onto each other, wanting more than anything to never have to move from that spot.

This is one of those days. I didn't want to get out of bed, I didn't want to drive to work, I don't want to sit at my desk, I don't want to debug my code. Right now, more than anything, I want to log off from this computer, turn off the flouresecent light at my desk, get in my car, drive back across the river...back to Erin. I want to feel my arms around her body, hers around mine. I want to look deep into her eyes. I want to hear her voice joking with me and saying great things. I want to see her flash me a smile. I want endless hours hiding out from daylight, talking with her about anything and everything. That's what I want.

She's what I want. Always.

then / now