in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-23-02 // 8.46 am

cheerleading for creative writers

NP: Idlewild - "The Remote Part"

Ended up staying at work a bit later than I wanted to last night. Bought a watermelon from a shirtless man on the roadside on the way back. Came home and Erin was in bed, sick. Not sure what came over her, but she was coughing, tired, and just feeling generally bad. Then we found out that Erin's dad had just dropped into town unexpectedly. Did the dishes. Later, went out to pick up Erin's allergy prescription, and get boxes of things from her grandparents' that her dad brought in with him. Also went out to get dinner. I was going to cook pasta, but we just ran out of time, I didn't feel like it at that point. So I went to Fazoli's on the way home from the other errands.

As I was approaching Walgreen's, the sky began to get gray. I actually saw the encroaching billowing clouds as I left the apartment, but it didn't start to get noticably stormy till the pharmacy. After picking up the prescription and heading back out to the parking lot, the sky was this dark, inky gray-black. The wind was howling. Driving down the road, back towards dinner and home, piled-up dust from a construction site was swirling around like a mini-tornado. The wind was everywhere, big bolts of lightning were shooting to the ground, and the sky looked ill. At one point, I actually got scared. When I was little, I was scared of storms. Like, I had a serious fear of them. I grew out of it a long, long time ago, and actually actively enjoy storms now. Though last night, in my car alone, the world just felt foreboding. I felt like if a gust hit just right, I could be blown away. I thought of Erin alone back in the apartment, and I just wanted to be back there. I wanted a supersonic jet to take me back there.

Made it home, and we sat on the bed with the blinds on the east-facing window open, watching the clouds swirl, the lightning flash, and the rain blow around. It was safe, it was warm, it was home.

then / now