in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-31-01 // 9.42 am

my relationship with the telephone as a metaphor for life

I've been incredibly tired the last couple of days. I can't quite figure out why. All I know is that I'm a lot more sluggish than I usually am this early in the week. Maybe it's the heat...hmmm.

Why does everyone now call any gig/concert a "rock show", even if the act they're seeing really aren't anything more than some power pop band? It just seems an odd thing to say, almost redundant. Maybe I'd feel better if people started being more specific elsewhere..."I'm going to the teen pop show", "I'm going to the death metal show", "I'm going to the acid jazz show". Sadly, you never hear any of those phrases.

One of my biggest pet peeves is people who don't return phone calls promptly, or at all. I don't know why this bothers me so much. Well, I guess probably because it's rather rude...but anyway. Nothing's worse than trying to get a hold of someone & then having them decide you're not important enough to remember to call back. It's not like dialing a phone takes that long or requires you to have a doctorate or something.

I'm getting a haircut after work today. I desperately need one. Well, at least by my standards I do. I feel like I'm wearing a blonde Beatle wig. Just call me Murray the K.

then / now