in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-1-04 // 7.22 pm

"there's someone at the door, neil!"

Someone at BBC America decided to take a break from the omnipresent 'home improvement' type reruns to show an old episode of "The Young Ones". It's the one where everybody is bored and, amongst other things, Neil decides to dig his own grave in the back garden in case he feels like offing himself to alleviate the boredom. Anyway, somebody up there likes me! What's next, reruns of "Black Books" or "The League of Gentlemen"?

Erin and I went up on Olive and ate dim sum for lunch. Many varieties of dumpling were consumed. We couldn't get them to bring us BBQ pork buns, though. They had lots of tripe, however. Didn't want that.

So now Erin's at work, although she'll be home in an hour or change. I spent the afternoon at my sister's place. She's out of town for the week with her boyfriend, visiting his parents in Michigan. She put me in charge of checking on her place in her absence, picking up mail, etc. So I did that today, and took the opportunity to use her washer/dryer to do a few more loads of laundry. I whiled away the cleaning hours by reading issues of Q and listening to the iPod (pumped through my sister's bookshelf stereo system via the tape adapter from the car).

I don't want this weekend to end, it was rather pleasant and relaxing. I definitely don't want to go back to work tomorrow and have to deal with my spastic project manager. He means well, but as any sort of deadline approaches he tends to get super neurotic and freak out. Last week, over a week before I was meant to send test cases out for review, he started sending these weird, terse one line emails asking things like "Mike, test cases ready for review?" or "Mike, status of test cases?". Chill, man, chill. For one thing, I will have the test cases out for review at the end of this week as planned. For another thing, this really isn't even the big deal deadline, it's minor, it's not the code freeze (which is still about three weeks away, I think). Ugh. Being the test lead blows, and I definitely don't need to deal with a manager who needs constant reassurance. How weird.

I'm getting hungry again, I think before long it'll be time for a small bite to eat. I will also require a couple of beers, I believe.

then / now