in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-30-04 // 10.24 am

a panoply of musical idioms

I'd forgotten just how often P. Diddy/Daddy appears on the Notorious B.I.G.'s "Ready to Die". I mean, he's there all the damn time in the background, just going "yeah" or "unh". That man has to have made the most money out of so little work out of anyone who's ever lived.

This morning I bought tickets to see Wilco at the Fox in September! Got great seats, too, the second row in the first orchestra section. That's incredibly close-up. After purchasing the tickets, I was perusing the venue's site and came across this ridiculously pretentious description of Wilco:

"[A Ghost Is Born], which was co-produced by the band and Jim O�Rourke, forgoes the electronic experimentation of its celebrated predecessor in favor of a naturalistic sonic template rooted in performance and minimalist production. As ever, the band enthusiastically veers through a panoply of musical idioms, morphing genre after genre into their own inimitable, idiosyncratic sound."

Thank Zarquon it's the weekend. Last night I drank a couple of beers (for the first time in a couple of weeks) and ended up watching like two hours' worth of "Beavis & Butthead" reruns and then going to sleep somewhat early. Now I have absolutely no obligations for the next two days, so I'm just going to sit around watching movies, catching up on music I've bought but not had time to properly spin, and going for long walks.

It's not even noon yet, that's so awesome.

then / now