in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-5-02 // 11.08 am

this is our chance to sing and to dance and to clown

NP: Pete Townshend - "All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes"

I'm not even going to pretend that any work is getting done today. But that's alright.

We took an hour and change of personal time this morning and stayed in bed a bit longer. Best idea ever.

Had a good weekend...was mostly relaxing, though Erin had a bout of insomnia on Saturday night. Struck a nice mix of staying in and going out, though, mostly. Weekends are interesting things. I dunno, I look at the pile of dirty clothes sitting on the bedroom floor, and I see the shirt and pants I wore on Friday. Friday evenings are, for my money, the absolute best part of the week, I always want to go back to them. I think the appeal comes from the fact that you've been at work all day, and it brings the usual relief of being out of there and back home. But it's more than that, it's also knowing that you now have two whole days off after the current evening is over. Two mornings of sleeping in, two days to live your life without the constraints of work. By comparison, Saturday morning always feels like anything is possible, and Sunday morning is calm yet slightly anxious, because you know in the back of your mind that the day will slowly run out, and then it'll be back to work. But yeah, Friday nights are brilliant.

We only have two cats, right? Then why does it seem like we have about two hundred? I swear, these cats cover our apartment so well. You can't turn around without seeing a kitty. Somehow, they just manage to sneak around and turn up wherever you are. This morning, standing at the sink shaving, I looked out of the corner of my eye and saw Meowie sitting on the top of the toilet, front paws up on the sink, just staring at me. Startled the hell out of me. Corona has a bad habit of getting underneath my feet when I'm standing in the kitchen. I try to look where I'm going, but it's still tough.

Went to the movies twice over the weekend. Our apartment is air conditioned, and it's usually nice and cool, but there's something about movie theaters that make them the only true way to properly cool down when it's as ungodly hot out as it's been around here lately. Multiplexes must turn their thermostats down to like 60 degrees...you feel like you need a coat in there. But I don't care, it's great...it's like when I was a teenager and worked in a grocery store, I'd sometimes go sit in the ice cream/frozen foods locker after I'd been outside gathering carts for a while.

We also went to the mall on Saturday. Well, one of the malls. See, we live smack dab inbetween two malls, so neither one is technically in our neighborhood. But yeah, we go to both at various times. One is the Galleria, and it's way posh. The other, the one we were at this weekend, is is Crestwood, and it's a bit ghettofied. But it's a stellar place for people watching. This particular trip, my favorite subjects were what we termed "goth kids in love". It was this roving group of teenage goth kids...one girl had makeup on that made her look like a cat. Another girl had a grass skirt on. A guy had about a million piercings. All wore black and sulked, except for the brief period where they were conga dancing. Oh, and at one point, we saw another group of goth kids using an ATM. I'm still not entirely sure why, but that did (and still does) crack me up beyond belief.

The people who run our favorite Chinese delivery place are finally back from their vacation. I think you can tell what we'll be doing tonight

then / now