in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-6-02 // 9.29 am

and now he's throwing discus for liverpool and widnes

NP: Belle and Sebastian - "If You're Feeling Sinister"

It seems that a big storm ripped through the city last night, knocking out power and all of that. Though it seems I slept right through it. I remember waking up at one point, seeing what I think were flashes of lightning, and going right back to sleep, but I'm not sure.

Today would be a great day to just skip out on work, you know? I'd love to just walk out the door, get in the car, drive back across the river, and pick up Erin. Today would be a great day for morning reading in bed with music on in the background, for Forest Park, for the Art Museum, for a cup of tea in a cafe, for going to bookstores.

Corona goes in for declawing and spaying tomorrow morning. They'll do the operations that afternoon, but then she has to stay overnight, we can't pick her back up till Thursday evening, I think. I feel kind of bad about it all, but it's necessary, it's for her own good, you know?

I drive almost 30 miles each way to and from work, so you'd think I'd be sick of being behind the wheel, but right now, I'm in the mood for a road trip. Just getting up and going somewhere. Not sure why...perhaps it's the daily act of getting on the interstate and seeing "Louisville", "Chicago", "Memphis", but never actually going to any of those places. I mean, I've been there before, but you know what I mean. Anyway, sometimes in the morning, I get the urge to just keep driving, to use the road to its full potential.

If I wake up in the middle of the night, I usually walk over to the window before I go back to sleep. I pry the blinds apart and peer through, looking down to the pavement and cars below, to the other apartment buildings across the way, to the treetops, streetlights, and dark pink sky past everything else. It's comforting, though at the same time, it makes me think of how massive the world is. I think about numbers, about the sheer mass of human beings on the planet. I think about divisions -- my country, my state, my city, my neighborhood, my apartment complex, my building, my apartment. It's at this point that I usually turn back around, look down at the bed, see Erin sleeping there, and I smile. I slide back into bed, put my arms around her, my body up against hers. There's a sound I hear myself make in this situation...it's this sort of satisfied sigh, maybe. I can't really describe it, but it's equal parts relaxation, contentment, and happiness.

I know that before long, the sky is going to clear, it's going to become unbearably hot again, and this feeling will be lost. But for now, I'm going to enjoy it. This is a good day.

then / now