in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-9-02 // 8.35 am

tall buildings shake, voices escape

NP: Wilco - "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot"

Quick-ass update here...work is being very worky. Figures that Friday, the day you just want to get done with, would be the busiest of the week so far. The good news is, despite the fact that there's a ton to do at work right now, the schedule in which I have to complete the extra tasks I've been given is much more flexible than I previously thought. So that's cool.

This is one of those mornings where my fingers don't seem to want to cooperate. I'm misspelling things, accidentally capitalizing letters that aren't supposed to be. Wonderful.

Jeff Tweedy is from the town where I was born, just a few miles down the road from where I spent the first twenty years or so of my life. I went to high school with his cousin. Anyway, there's little things here and there in Wilco and Uncle Tupelo that really make me smile. Like, in Heavy Metal Drummer, Tweedy sings "I sincerely miss those heavy metal bands I used to go see on the landing in the summer". The Landing...heh. Plus, on the inside cover of the new Uncle Tupelo comp (half best-of, half rarities...it's very haphazard), there's a picture of the band sitting on a rooftop, drinking big bottles of cheap beer. Something about the pic stuck me as familiar...after studying it for a while, I realized that they're sitting on the roof of the Lincoln Theater in downtown Belleville. In the background you can see the building that has those apartments and the Lincoln Jug restaurant in it. I dunno, I just like things like that, little familiar tidbits.

I'll be happy when this working day is over. I'm looking forward to the traditional pizza delivery, beer, and vegging out tonight. Steve is in the city this weekend, so we're going to hang out tomorrow afternoon. And of course, there will be much general lazing around...I'm hoping to spend the better part of Sunday laying in bed.

Now I have to run... At least it's casual day. Three cheers for jeans and tennis shoes

then / now