in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-8-02 // 9.28 am

what crumbs of joy can I steal from this day

NP: Squeeze - "Some Fantastic Place"

Most people (Americans, anyway) only seem to be aware of these guys as the band that did Tempted. Which, despite being a fantastic song, really isn't even fair, considering it was sung by Paul Carrack, who was only even with the band for one album, and sang just that one tune. In any case, I've always though it was odd the group wasn't more well known...Glenn Tilbrook/Chris Difford were/are one of the best songwriting duos this side of Lennon/McCartney and Morrissey/Marr. Anyway, with Anglophile musical rant over...

My breakfast this morning consisted of a small packet of Fig Newtons and a can of Dr. Pepper. Surely that has to be a new low of some sort.

Erin and I met up with Julie (and her friends Holly and Lauren) last night. Met at Borders, ate Mexican food (at a restaurant featuring lots of TVs playing MTV en espa�ol), went CD shopping, and then wandered the mall. It was a good evening, everyone was very cool. Next time they need to come to the city and we'll do funky, city-type stuff. Or something. Yeah.

Is it wrong of me to be all indie rock (apparently) and such and yet never once owned a Replacements album?

Turned off the AC and slept with the windows open last night. It was infinitely relaxing...cool breeze blowing in, the sounds of cars on the street. At one point, a train rolled by on the tracks behind our building. You can't hear anything when the windows are shut (you just feel the vibrations), but with them open, you hear the rumbling and whistles. Though, to be honest, it's all a bit too loud at 3 o'clock in the morning.

There's work to be done this morning, but I'm going about it a bit slowly. I get kind of angry with myself when I get like this...you know, all procrastinatory and lazy. Doesn't happen that often, but once in a while I just can't get motivated. I'm sure part of it has to do with the fact that Erin and I are taking the afternoon off. So I'm out of here around noon, which is brilliant, considering today is easily the equal of yesterday for sheer weather-related joy. We're going to catch lunch, pick up Corona from the vet (we both really miss her, plus Meowie has been all lonesome and yowly), play some tennis, and just generally chill out for the rest of the day.

Erin makes me smile. No matter what's going on, regardless of whether I'm already happy, or if I'm tired, hurried & stressed, or if I'm down...I think of her, and I smile. She's the personal equivalent of a sunny, clear, breezy day.

I'm in a great mood. I'll be in an even better one once I can get out of this flourescent-lit cave and out under the sun.

then / now