in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-12-02 // 1.35 pm

been to philadelphia the day it was closed

NP: Elton John - "Songs from the West Coast"

Today is partially a day of getting things done, and partially a day of attending meeting after meeting. It's a day of both being "reminded" that we all have cost and schedule committments, but also being told that we're required to attend four hours of non-essential meetings. I dunno, just get tired of that sort of thing sometimes. But it's alright, because eventually, I will get to go home. And that's the important bit.

Tonight while Erin is at her guitar lesson, I will be cooking chicken parmesan. I actually rather like cooking, it's very relaxing, very casual. Cooking is best when Erin and I do it together, but it's still not bad when it's just me. I usually grab the CD player/clock radio out of the bathroom, listen to some music, maybe drink a beer, and relax. I suppose most people would think of making dinner as a chore, but I tend to think of it more as something therapeutic.

So yeah, today I am wearing a dress shirt and tie, as my office is being visited by yet another high-ranking military dignitary. I dunno, I realize it's important to do this sort of thing once in a while to sort of show off for the customer, but on the other hand, I'd rather not have to worry about dressing up, making sure my cube is cleaned up, and attending meetings when I'd rather just get my work done, you know? Not to mention that I'll be glad to undo this tie, it's choking me. Alright, alright, I'll stop complaining now...

I really want to see "24 Hour Party People", though I'm not sure if or when it's showing in the city. All I know is that the Tivoli showed the trailer for it over the weekend, so...

I wish that I had more time to write, but for now I have to split. What a drag.

then / now