in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-13-02 // 9.26 am

the sound permeated all directions at once

NP: The Church - "After Everything Now This"

I'm tired, and I'm pretty sure that I'll have to work (unpaid) overtime every day this week. It's things like this, along with paying bills and such, that mark the low, left end of the adulthood spectrum. Thankfully, the high, right end makes it all worthwhile. People are always going on about wanting to return to childhood, to idyllic summers with no responsibilities, no awareness, etc. I've never had that desire, I like getting older, I like being an adult. Yeah, sometimes it sucks, but I would say that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.

A little while ago, I had my first cup of coffee at work for like a month. It was terrible. I guess that should teach me not to pour a cup if all that's left in the pot is that layer of liquid that sits there when nobody wants to be the person who empties the pot and has to put another on. Sigh...

I am very much looking forward to coming home tonight, ordering Chinese takeout, and lazing about on the bed with Erin, talking, reading, and relaxing. It's thoughts of things like that which help me get to the end of the working day.

It seems like there was more I meant to say in here, but now I can't seem to think of it. Oh well, I suppose it doesn't matter, since I have to get going now anyway.

then / now