in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-16-03 // 7.38 pm

"bugs"

Heh, "Big" is on TV. I love that movie. Right now it's on the bit where he's talking about that building that turns into a robot.

It's damn hot outside. 97 degrees or something like that. I was out in it for a while earlier, I went with Erin to her cousin's RC racing qualifiers. Though after a couple of hours, after watching his two races, and after realizing that he probably wouldn't have another one for like three or four hours, I came back to the apartment to hide out in the AC. I thought about going for a walk, which I really should've done, but I'm in that late-summer mood where I just want it to be fall already.

The English premiership started back up today, which makes me inordinately happy. I realize that's a pretty minor thing in the grand scheme of things, but hey... Hopefully my Newcastle puts in another good season, as I'm suffering here, what with the annoyingly average year the Cardinals have put in so far.

I'm currently being fought over at work, which is at once hilarious, annoying, and kind of flattering. I'm supposed to start full time on a new project on Monday, but at the same time, my old project manager and tech lead have lined me up to do a whole bunch of testing stuff at the same time. When I left on Friday evening, as far as I knew I was still supposed to do both things, which is kind of impossible. But I've been promised by my new project manager that things will be resolved so I can get on with what I'm supposed to do.

Oh, and there's going to be a bonus in my next paycheck. Once or twice a year the government gives my company a "report card", so to speak. The better the score, the more money the employee bonuses contain. We did really well again this time around, so... Not sure what I'm going to do with the dough. I should save it, or pay off some debt. But I'm not going to. I'm going to do something I want to do with it, I figure it's my reward for all of that buillshit unpaid overtime I worked this summer. I might use the money to buy a plane ticket to go visit a friend, but I'm not sure if that's going to work out. Hope that it does. But if it doesn't, I'm sure I'll still manage to find a good way to spend it.

You know, I've always wanted a lava lamp, but I've never actually owned one. I should change that at some point. I also want to start playing tennis again. My dad used to be my match partner, but it's harder to schedule times to play now that we're not located in the same place. I need to make a more conscious effort to get together with him -- for that, and for anything, really. My mom, too -- I've been promising to take her out to dinner for ages but things keep coming up. Not an excuse, I know, but that's how it's been.

I know this has been the most banal entry ever, but I had to get something down just to get back into the swing of things. Now it's time for more soda -- later, gators.

then / now