in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-18-03 // 10.10 am

enough to stay wide awake

NP: Matt Good Band - "Beautiful Midnight"

The weekend felt both incosequential as well as if it flew by in an instant. I walked back into the office this morning and it felt as if it had only been half an hour since I left on Friday evening. Blah.

Got a note last night from my college pal BJ and his wife Nora that they're expecting their first child in April. I realize that a person's mid-twenties is a common time to start a family, but it still seems weird. Maybe it's just that they're the first of my same-age friends to have kids. I have friends with children, but they're older than myself. Either way, big congratulations to them, I think they'll be cool parents. As for me, I am happy to remain baby-free.

This article is a brilliant piece on reverse Engrish. I've always wondered about that sort of thing, e.g. does that guy's kanji tatoo really say "fuckhead"?

I'm busy as hell at work today, which kind of pisses me off considering it's all of this stuff that really isn't my responsibility anymore. I started on a new project this morning, but today and tomorrow, while my old tech lead is out of the office, I have to play "in charge" for the techincal aspects of that project, despite the fact that it's not my responsibility. It's especially annoying as he left me a bunch of shit to do that he was supposed to take care of Friday before he left for four days. But of course, now it's my problem. I know I should stop whining and all, but it just ticks me off a bit, as I'm really sick of that old project and was supposed to be done with it for good weeks ago.

OK, gotta go, time to get back to working for the man.

then / now