in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-22-04 // 9.19 pm

it's the freakin' weekend

A good weekend.

Friday I thought I'd end up working Saturday and/or Sunday. I ended up getting a bunch of stuff done (after finally getting the environment I'd been waiting to get for two days. Long story short, got a bunch of automated tests ready to run Friday night and Saturday. So I suppose I did work this weekend, I just wasn't there to do it. My coworker helped me out by kicking off the second set of tests from his work-from-home connection. Hey, he offered.

So yes. Friday night I was exhausted so I came home, stayed in, drank Bass and did laundry.

Slept in (well, in for me anyway) on Saturday, which kicked off a day of me feeling like myself again for the first time in a while. Erin went to work and I went to my parents' house to get a few more things before they move next month. Had lunch and visited with them, lifted some boxes, and then drove over to say hey to Ryan S. Hadn't managed to meet up with him for a few weeks, so it was cool to see him. Made tentative plans to do something in a week or so. Got home, did a few odds and ends, and then went to the River Splash thing when Erin got home from work. Picked up Will & then met up with Erin's aunt & grandma, and then Kristin once we got to the riverfornt. B.B. King was the concert, but it was so throttled with people that we couldn't even get close enough to see the stage. We could barely even hear the music, although now and then I caught some choice guitar solos wafting through the trees. Ate at Chris' late after waiting over an hour for the metro back.

Slept in slightly this morning, but not much. Went for a long walk to atone for the previous day's late night turkey melt. Didn't do much this afternoon, just some grocery shopping and such. Later in the afternoon I went up to Marc and Danielle's place for an Evil Dead trilogy marathon and BBQ. I ended up only being able to stay for the first two flicks, but it was a ton of fun and very relaxing to hang out with everyone for the first time in a while. Now I'm just sitting here on the couch after doing a few chore type things. Late dinner time when Erin gets home from work here soon, and then I'm sure bed at which point the week begins anew.

I'm sure this entry sounded banal, but the past couple of days have just been great. It's been nice being in a good mood and feeling human for a change.

then / now