in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-27-02 // 9.03 am

maybe the heat babe, could be this tune

NP: Elton John - "Sleeping with the Past"

I'm a bit tired again this morning. It's not bad, but I've got that stretchy, sort of slow-paced thing going on, you know?

We have to take Meowie to the vet this evening, as I found this sore or bite or something on the back of his neck. It's probably not a huge deal (considering he doesn't seem to be in any sort of pain or discomforted in any way), but still, better safe than sorry.

The ballgame last night was interesting. A few years ago the region (i.e. southwest Illinois) attracted a very low level minor league team and then built this tiny 5,000 seat ballpark kind of in the middle of nowhere, off a ringroad interstate not too far from the river and the St. Louis downtown, near a small airport, and a few miles away a bunch of chemical plants, nightclubs, and strip joints. It was an odd place for a game, but it had its charms. A few things of note:

- Cheap beer and food. Free parking, too.
-Teenage ushers constantly hitting on teenage girls in attendance.
- A hot tub (for rent by the game) out by the right field foul pole.
- Weird between-inning contests like mattress racing.
- Loudmouthed fans, including a couple of drunk, fat guys heckling everyone, including the home team, and this guy sitting in the row behind me, who kept offering up advice to the pitcher, like he was a father cheering on his son at a Khoury League game. Maybe this guy was the pitcher's father.
- Small planes constantly taking off and landing beyond the center and right field fences.

In any case, it was a good time hanging out with my dad and my grandfathers. My uncle and cousin showed up, too, which was also cool. Missed Erin, too. I always have the best time at ballgames with her. She understands the aesthetic, you know? Plus, I always miss her when we're apart. I know it was only for an evening, but yeah...

Erin and I were going to have dinner on the Loop tonight, at this place called Riddles, which is freakishly overpriced, but also freakishly delicious. Plus they seat you at sidewalk tables, so it's really atmospheric and relaxing. Not sure if we'll make it tonight due to the vet appointment (I hope we do make it, as selfish as that sounds), but either way, it'll be great when we do. It seems like a while since we've been out like that.

After having about two weeks of pure madness at work, this week is mostly being quiet and empty. I mean, there may or may not be issues to work off once they run the next level of testing, but to be honest, right now it's mostly just waiting. Which is fine, though I do notice the days go by much more slowly this way.

Now I'm hungry. I wonder if the break room has anything non-toxic lurking around?

then / now