in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-29-02 // 8.54 am

she showed me how to raise a smile

NP: Squeeze - "Some Fantastic Place"

I heard Black Coffee In Bed on the radio right before I got to the office, so I just had to put this in when I sat down at my desk. I mean, it doesn't have the aforementioned song on it, but it'll do.

Payday today, my check was waiting for me on my desk. Hooray for paying rent and having a place to live.

August is almost over. Summer's almost gone, too. Thought about this yesterday driving home from Corona's vet appointment. The sun was starting to set at like 7.30 in the evening, as opposed to the 8 or 8.30 we'd been seeing even a month or so earlier. For me, much shorter days (and evenings, natch) are one of the only big losses of moving on towards fall. I certainly won't miss the heat. In fact, lately I've been in the mood to start wearing slacks and jackets.

I've been a little bit cranky the past few days, and I'm not sure what that's all about. It's not been constantly, but here and there, you know? And I hate it, because there's no reason to be that way. I hate myself for doing it. Maybe I'm just tired...I probably just need some time with no rushing around and no obligations. Which is why the coming long weekend will rock so much. See below...

Going down to Cape next weekend to see Hinge and Holly. Should be a great time, I haven't seen them since my birthday party, and thinking about it, that was like four months ago at this point. Oh, and they recently got engaged and have now set a tentative wedding date of December '03.

Erin cooked a great dinner last night while I was out attending to kitty health care matters. I'd never had anything with jerk sauce before. And now that I have, I'd like to keep having it. Yum.

We went to the gym last night, finally got in that all-important first trip back, since Erin's finally feeling better to exert herself. Got in some stair machine and stationary bike work, and a bit of weights. Felt nice. Very nice, in fact...I miss being in a regular exercise routine.

Not sure yet if we're going out to the Loop tonight or staying in. Either way, it'll be good to relax. I actually wish it was the weekend right now. Three days, no answering the phone, no having to leave, no obligations, no nothing. Just laying around with Erin, sleeping as late as we feel like, doing precisely anything we want to. It'll be brilliant.

8 hours seems like 8 billion years when you're stuck at work without anything to do. Blah.

then / now