in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-31-01 // 1.04 pm

what show of soul are we gonna get from you?

NP: The Waterboys - "This is the Sea"

I woke up this morning and looked out my window & saw thick gray skies. As I got dressed and got ready to leave my place, I noticed it was sprinkling a little. Fine, I thought, it'll cool things down. I get about three blocks away from my aparment block and the rain starts coming down heavier. So I open up my umbrella. A few blocks past that...the heavens opened up. Torrential rains, I felt like I was caught in the middle of a monsoon. So I trudged onwards, most of me getting wet despite the valiant efforts of my less-than-adequate umbrella. So I got to campus and ducked inside the nearest building. I tried to dry myself off a bit, but it didn't do much good. I stood inside the building for a while in hopes that the downpour would lessen. For a while I thought that it had, so I went back outside and continued to make my way to my first class. However, about halway to my destination, the rain once again got heavier. About 100 yards from the building, it started coming down even harder than it had before. I didn't think it possible. So I finally got to where I was going...and I was drenched. Shorts, most of my shirt, even my bare legs and sandaled feet were just dripping with rainwater. My backpack was drenched, as were a good deal of my notebooks and texts inside. It wasn't pleasant to sit in that air conditioned classroom looking and feeling like a drowned rat. I felt like I was getting pneumonia. Thankfully I'm now back at my apartment, I'm in dry clothes and I've set everything out in an attempt to get it dry. What a Friday it's been so far.

Great, now it's time to leave for the rest of my day's classes. I don't want to go at all, I'd rather do anything else in this world at this particular moment. But oh well. I can't wait 'til this evening gets here.

then / now