in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-6-02 // 10.56 am

fireworks and hurricanes

NP: Radiohead - "Kid A"

Fought with Erin this morning, which was miserable, though we've sorted things out now. I don't raise my voice often, and I hate when I do. I apologized earlier, but I'm apologizing again.

Otherwise, I'm extremely tired and worn out. Dark circles under my eyes, you know how it goes. I may be working on a bit of a headache, too. I'm looking forward to coming home and resting tonight.

Somehow, a snake got into my office yesterday and was wriggling its way around the hallways. Finally, someone had the good sense to drive it back out the door.

Had an excruciating hour and a half long all-hands meeting yesterday afternoon. It was approximately 20 minutes worth of useful information, and the rest was either corporate propaganda or information we'd been given twice before by a different manager. Normally I don't mind those sorts of meetings too much, but I actually had things to take care of yesterday afternoon.

Oh, and this morning when I pulled into the parking lot here at work, there was this kid standing next to his car, on the side of the road, looking at a US mailbox that he had apparently just run over. I mean, he smashed the thing pretty good. So he was standing there bewildered, and I started thinking "great, there goes my convenient place to mail bills and such".

Erin's new job interview is this afternoon. From what she's told me, it sounds like more of a formality than anything, that she's probably already got the position. But anyway, I'm wishing her all the luck in the world...not that she needs it in the first place.

I want it to be the end of the working day right now.

then / now