in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-13-02 // 8.53 am

all the late night bargains have been struck

NP: Dire Straits - "Brothers in Arms"

My old white car died like three months ago. Well, I took it to a mechanic where they basically told me the engine was shot and they wouldn't repair it even if I wanted them to. So I left it sitting in their parking lot. It sat there for three months. My parents kept asking me if I'd done anything with it, and every time they asked, I brushed them off or whatever. So anyway, Wednesday evening, I drove to where the car was parked, to get some paperwork out of the glove box so my dad could send away for a new copy fo the title, so we could finally dispense of the car once and for all. So yeah, I drive down to where the car was sitting all of those months, only to discover that the car is now gone! So I check with the mechanic's office, who inform me that the car was towed...earlier that morning. So yeah, after lots of calling around (nobody, not the mechanic nor the police seemed certain just where the car had been taken), I tracked the thing down at a towing yard downtown. So yesterday morning, I went down, paid the towing fee (which was expensive but not nearly as exorbitantly expensive as it could've been), and negotiated with the guy running the place to sign the car over to him once I get the new copy of the title. I mean, I don't want the car anymore, it's shot. And I don't really want to have to move it again. So this way it can just sit there and then I can get rid of it once and for all. Whew. The worst part of the whole thing is that it makes me feel so incredibly stupid. Three months passed by and I didn't do anything. I could've taken care of the thing ages ago, but I didn't. *shrugs* Oh well.

Erin and I had dinner at my parents' house last night. It was great, actually...my dad made roast beef and mashed potatoes. We all sat around talking, we took the dog for a short walk, and I picked up the final few boxes of my things. We talked about my mom and dad's upcoming trip out west. They're leaving this evening for Yellowstone, the Badlands, places like that. Two weeks in total, and they're driving the entire way. But yeah, they're really excited, and I'm happy for 'em. They deserve a break like this, they work so hard.

This morning I feel good. It's casual day at work and I'm in jeans, a shirt that I like wearing, and tennis shoes. It's sort of cloudy out this morning...you know, with all of those high clouds that look like interlocking cotton balls. It's cool out, too...it feels like fall got here slightly early. We were even able to open up the windows the past couple of nights, it's been brilliant. I'm not sure that there's any better feeling in the world than wrapping my arms around Erin while a cool breeze blows through the window in the middle of the night. It's perfect. She's perfect.

I just checked the "open tasks" list and it looks like there's basically nothing going on at work today. Of the like 4 or 5 things left to do, it seems that other people (mostly people in the Virginia office) are working on them. So yeah, OK.

I'm looking forward to tonight. I can't wait to be back home with Erin, to order pizza, drink a few beers, watch "The Simpsons", cartoons, and trash TV. I can't wait to just relax with her, to sleep in tomorrow morning, to not have to rush around or have any obligations

then / now