in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-16-02 // 9.32 am

I've spent twenty years learning to live

NP: Matthew Sweet - "Girlfriend"

Because Erin has fantastic taste in music. It's true.

My stomach's been kind ofl wonky ever since I woke up on Saturday morning. Not sure if it's something I ate or what. It's not a big deal, it's just minor and it's not constant, but still.

A huge patch of fog swallowed up the top of the Arch this morning. Most of downtown was hazy and clouded up, but most of the skyscrapers were still visible. But the arch was halfway in the clouds. In the clouds...I've always loved that phrase.

I want to fly Julie out here for three or four days like next month or something. Erin misses her a lot. We can't really get out to L.A. due to costs and not really having any vacation time (Erin's new job is going to be fairly tight with time off). But I want to bring her here, you know? That I can do.

Had a brilliant weekend. Friday evening, sitting around with the big living room window open, eating pizza, drinking beer, talking, watching people milling around in the courtyard. It was nice having the windows open for a bit, seeing the evening sunlight casting shadows in on the living room. It was nice listening to music, talking, laughing. The whole weekend was brilliant, though... Sitting with the lights off on Saturday night, watching dark clouds roll in and lightning strike, eating Chinese delivery and huddling under the blanket. I'm smiling all over again just thinking about it. Oh, and exploring yesterday morning, and going out for a bagel and cup of coffee (I love lazy weekend mornings like that), and watching the Rams game in the afternoon. I dunno, I've been here at work, answering questions about tests and things like that, but I've really been thinking about the weekend, about her.

Now I have to run... If I was a braver man I'd walk out into the parking lot, get into my car, and drive back home. But I'm not so I'm waiting for 4 o'clock.

then / now