in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-13-04 // 8.55 am

memories of things you've never known

NP: 97 R.E.M. songs on shuffle

Relief. That's what I'm talking about. As of this morning I completed my testing. Well, there's still one more round coming up where the government tester sits in on one final run, but I'm fairly confident that will go well. So yeah...I was pretty nervous this weekend, I had the last set of automated tests I wrote running Friday night and Saturday. I was really worried (or paranoid / lacking self-confidence) that I'd not really understood the requirements and that the tests were going to bomb out. My coworker with the home connection checked on the results for me yesterday evening, he said most steps passed but a few failed, something like a 98% pass rate. That made me feel mostly better, but I was still nervous when I came in this morning to investigate the 2% that were "off". Thankfully, the errors were only ones that I expected to see -- good errors, if such a thing makes sense. My project manager said it was now "Miller time". I wouldn't go that far, but I will say that I feel a big load off of my back. And now enough boring work talk.

Saturday was the annual Polish festival up on St. Louis Avenue. There was a really big crowd, maybe bigger than last year. I met up with my granpda & a few aunts/uncles/cousins, had a few beers and a big plate of golabki, pierogi, Polish sausage & extras. Soaked up some sun, listened to some polka, played a few carnival-style gambling games. It was a good time, and I came home late afternoon to enjoy some football watching/couch lazing/napping.

Not much yesterday. Accompanied Erin to the doctor so she could get her cough checked out. Cleaned up the apartment once she went to work & ran a few errands. Early evening, Steve, Sarah, Marc, Danielle, Jack & Kelly came by for a showing of "Shakma". Pizza was consumed, (the man) continuity errors were pointed out, and a good time was had by all. I think Steve & I enjoy it more than anyone else, but still. Good to have everyone over for a change.

Now it's time to do lots of paperwork type work tasks. Welcome to Monday. At least it's nowhere near as bad as it could be. (so far)

then / now