in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-17-02 // 10.42 am

get your philosophy from a bumper sticker

NP: Green Day - "Warning"

This morning I am tired. Not dead tired, but a bit fatigued. I wouldn't have minded another hour or two in bed. I've got a cup of coffee, which feels nice, and I'm fairly hungry...thought about having a banana, but I set it to the side and am now going to wait for lunch. Lunch food sounds better for some reason.

Talked to Erin earlier and she sounds even more tired and worn out than I am. They've given her some sort of big project at work, and apparently a big part of it has to be done today. So she's stressed out and everything...which I totally understand. I felt really bad about waking her up this morning, actually. I mean, we have to go to work, but I wanted to let her sleep. She always looks so peaceful when she's asleep.

I'm busy at work but not freakishly busy, which is good. I'm actually feeling really confident about my skills lately. Which isn't always the case...I mean, granted, there's an amazing amount of knowledge to be learned here, and l've only scratched the surface. But sometimes compared to some of the other people who have been here for like five years or more, I feel kind of stupid. But that feeling eventually passes, so it's all good.

I burned the tip of my thumb trying to light a candle last night. I ran it under cold water right afterwards, so it hasn't hurt too badly, but still. I'm such a spaz.

It's cloudy out today, sort of cool, but not that much. It's still humid, which really precludes any true feeling of fall creeping in. But in any case, this is far better than 95 degrees with tons of humidity and glary sunlight.

We're actually getting into that part of the year where we're far enough removed from the summer solstice, but we haven't quite made it to the end of daylight savings time. So, as a result, when I wake up (about quarter after six o'clock in the morning), it's still mostly dark out. It feels like getting up in the middle of the night, but for good. Far too early to be showering and getting ready to start the day. Today, the combination of clouds and later sunrise resulted in tons of shop signs and marquees on top of buildings still being lit up. Lots of cars had their headlights on, too. I dunno, it all just made me feel like I should be back in bed.

Yesterday, Erin suprised me by leaving work early, driving all the way out to my office, attaching flowers and some ballons to my car, and then slinking away, leaving me to find them when I went to go home for the day. It was so sweet and so thoughtful...I was already missing her like crazy all day, that just made me want to be back home even more badly.

This day keeps alternating betwen going by very quickly and very slowly. All I know is that it's getting close to lunchtime...hopefully the afternoon flies by.

then / now